The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    Middle Tennessee State University
  Dec 14, 2017
2011-12 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]



  Sidney A. McPhee, Ed.D.
University Provost
  Brad Bartel, Ph.D.
Senior Vice President
  John W. Cothern, J.D.
Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost for Enrollment and Academic Services
  Debra K. Sells, Ed.D.
Vice President for Development and University Relations
  William J. “Joe” Bales, M.S.
Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
  John Omachonu, Ph.D.
Vice Provost for Research and Dean, College of Graduate Studies
  Michael Allen, Ph.D.
Dean, College of Basic and Applied Sciences
  Thomas J. Cheatham, Ph.D.
Interim Dean, College of Behavioral and Health Sciences
  Harold D. Whiteside, Ph.D.
Dean, Jennings A. Jones College of Business
  E. James Burton, Ph.D.
Dean, College of Education
  Lana Seivers, Ph.D.
Dean, College of Liberal Arts
  Mark Bynes, Ph.D.
Dean, College of Mass Communication
  Roy Moore, Ph.D.
Dean, University College
  Mike Boyle, Ph.D.
Dean, University Honors College
  John R. Vile, Ph.D.
Dean, Walker Library
  Bonnie J. Allen, M.L.S.

Tennessee Higher Education Commission


The Tennessee Board of Regents


Endowed Chairs

Several academic programs are enriched through the establishment of Chairs dedicated to the support of a particular discipline. The chairholders may be full-time faculty members or may be individuals from the appropriate business or professional field who are on campus for special seminars or lecture series.

Two Chairs, funded by gifts to the University Foundation, are administered through the Economics and Finance Department, of which the chairholders are members. More information is available through that department. The Chairs are

  Martin Chair of Insurance
  Weatherford Chair of Finance

MTSU houses nine Chairs of Excellence, established with a combination of private, University, and state funds. They are

  The Jennings A. Jones Chair in Free Enterprise
    Jennings A. Jones College of Business
  The Jennings and Rebecca Jones Chair in Urban and Regional Planning
    Jennings A. Jones College of Business
  The John Seigenthaler Chair in First Amendment Studies
    College of Mass Communication
  The Dr. Carl Adams Chair in Health Care Services
  The National Health Care Chair in Nursing
    School of Nursing
  The Robert E. and Georgianna West Russell Chair in Manufacturing Excellence
    Engineering Technology Department
  The Katherine Davis Murfree Chair in Dyslexic Studies
  John C. Miller Chair in Equine Reproductive Physiology
    School of Agribusiness and Agriscience
  Mary E. Miller Chair in Equine Health
    School of Agribusiness and Agriscience